Initiative

5/28/16-11:47 p.m.

Well, my first week (or shall I say weeks because it’s been a while since I was on here) was pretty crazy. Going into my first week I faced the daunting task of finals and finishing the school year. I noticed during the week that on days that I felt tired or unmotivated, after I made myself get up and study or make a breakfast for the next morning, I felt like I had accomplished something. I often felt a sense of fulfillment and satisfaction because I felt like I was actually DOING something. I felt better about the work I was doing and it made me feel better altogether because I went to bed with the tiredness of a hard day’s work.

Once summer vacation hit, I was overwhelmed with the realization that I was finally free! Free from teachers, homework, tests, and worry over my GPA. Of course I took a few days off of focusing on initiative to take it easy and lay poolside with some of my friends, but with the rest of summer break in front of me, I plan to take initiative in order to make the most of every day. I really enjoyed the sense of accomplishment I felt every night and I want every day to feel like that. We as a society get so caught up on our phones, watching tv, and doing other meaningless things that we forget to do things that really matter. focusing on initiative really helped me to pull away from my phone and get things done efficiently.

The next trait I will be focusing on is Friendliness. I am quite an ambivert and sometimes in social setting that are new to me, I can become quiet and closed off. I become shy, instead of my normal and talkative self. On Friday, I start an internship at which I will be working with other students my age and I have been worried about how I will interact with them. I hope that by focusing on friendliness this week I will be able to make some new friends and seem like an approachable person.

We’ll see what happens.

Leave a comment